Faculty of Transport Economics

Office:            Room No. 207-A6 building

                        University of Transport and Communications

                        No.3 Cau Giay St., Lang Thuong Ward, Dong Da District, Hanoi, Vietnam.

Tel:                 +84-24-3766 1127



Board of leaders


Dean of the Faculty


and two Vice Deans are:

Prof. Dr. Nguyen Hong Thai, Vice Dean of the Faculty

Prof. Dr. Nguyen Thi Hong Hanh, Vice Dean of the Faculty


Brief Overview:

The Faculty of Transport-Economics, originally named as Faculty of Transport, was established in January 1963, had the responsibility for training undergraduate students in the field of Economics – Transport Engineering. In 1969, the faculty was renamed the Faculty of Transport - Economics.

Faculty of Transport Economics has become one of the top centers for education and research in the fields of transport, economics and construction economics in whole Vietnam since then.

In the first period, the Faculty of Transport included three sections: Railway Transport, Automobile Transport and Waterway Transport. Through different periods of development, the Faculty of Transport – Economics has had several changes in organizational structure, staff, training and scientific research activities. At present, the faculty has 8 sections in charge of 21 majors at undergraduate level, 3 majors at master level and 2 majors at doctor level. The total number of academic staffs is 105, in which 10 lecturers are professors, 16 are doctors and 56 are masters.

UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAMS: 6 disciplines with 21 majors



Transportation Operation

(8 majors)

1. Transport Process Control

2. Urban Railway Operation and Management

3. Airport Management, Organization and Operation

4. Multi-mode Transport

5. Railway Transport

6. Highway and Urban Transport Economics

7. Railway Transport Economics

8. Automobile Transport

Transport Economics

(5 majors)

9. Tourism and Transport Economics

10. Aviation Transport Economics

11. Automobile Transport Economics

12. Railway Transport Economics

13. Road and Waterway Transport Economics

Construction Economics

(2 majors)

14. Bridge – Road Management and Operation Economics

15. Transport Works Construction Economics

Business Administration

(4 majors)

16. Transport Enterprise Administration

17. Construction Enterprise Administration

18. Business Administration in Posts and Telecommunications

19. Transport Business Administration


(1 major)

20. Posts and Telecommunications Economics


(1 major)

21. General Accounting



Master Courses

  1. Construction Economics
  2. Organization and Management in Transport
  3. Business Administration

Doctor Courses

  1. Construction Economics
  2. Organization and Management in Transport


At present, the Faculty has 08 sections:

  • Section of Transport and Railway Economics
  • Head: Prof. Dr. (Ms) Nguyen Thi Hong Hanh (Vice Dean of the Faculty)
  • Staff: 10 lecturers.


  • Section of Tourism and Transportation Economics
  • Head: Prof. Dr. (Mr) Nguyen Thanh Chuong (Vice Rector of UTC)
  • Staff: 12 lecturers.


  • Section of Urban and Highway Transport
  • Head: Dr. (Ms) Tran Thi Lan Huong
  • Staff: 9 lecturers.


  • Section of Construction Economics
  • Head: Dr. (Mr) Nguyen Quynh Sang
  • Staff: 20 lecturers.


  • Section of Business Administration
  • Head: Prof. Dr. (Mr) Nguyen Hong Thai (Vice Dean of the Faculty)
  • Staff: 12 lecturers.


  • Section of Posts and Telecommunications Economics
  • Head: Prof. Dr. (Mr) Nguyen Dang Quang
  • Staff: 8 lecturers.


  • Section of Transportation Economics
  • Head: MSc. (Ms) Nguyen Thi Tuong Vi
  • Staff: 14 lecturers.


  • Section of Economic Basis and Management
  • Head: MSc. (Ms) Le Thi Tue Khanh (Deputy Director of Undergraduate Education Department of UTC).
  • Staff: 10 lecturers.


  • Section of Transport Planning and Management (instead of Institute of Transport Planning and Management)
  • Head: Dr. (Ms) Dinh Thi Thanh Binh
  • Staff: 10 lecturers.



Prof. Dr. Vu Trong Tich, Dean of the Faculty in the 50th Anniversary of the Faculty Establishment 1963-2013

Jubilant flowers in the anniversary

A lot of people attended the anniversary in the large hall of UTC

Art performance by students

Art performance

Receiving the awards

Mr. Nguyen Van Cong, Deputy Minister of Transport in the anniversary

Mr. Nguyen Duc Kien, an alumnus of the Faculty, Vice Chairman of Economics Committee of the Vietnam National Council in the anniversary

Mr. Le Khac Nam (your right side), an alumnus of the Faculty, Vice President of Hai Phong City in the anniversary