University of Transport and Communications (UTC), originally named as Vietnam College of Public Works, was reopened under the revolutionary government on November 15th, 1945. The UTC was officially established pursuant to the Decision No.42/CP of the Government Council (now it is called the Government) on March 24th, 1962. 

The UTC has two campuses. The main campus is located at No. 3 Cau Giay street, Lang Thuong ward, Dong Da district, Hanoi and the second campus called University of Transport and Communications-Campus in Ho Chi Minh City (abbreviated as UTC-Campus in HCMC) is located at 450-451 Le Van Viet street, Tang Nhon Phu A ward, Thu Duc City (formerly District 9), Ho Chi Minh City.


As of May 2021, the total number of UTC’s staff is 1,086; 815 of whom are full-time lecturers including 94 professors and associate professors, 223 doctors, 462 masters. Many lecturers of the University are leading experts in the field of transport, joining the advisory councils, state acceptance councils.

The total number of UTC’s students is about 24,000 students at all training levels, of which there are about 2,000 master students and PhDs. Many graduates of the UTC are keeping high position in the transport sector and others in Vietnam.